Patrol & K-9 Division


Captain Patrick Hux oversees the daily operation of all patrol functions for the Sheriff's Office. Deputy sheriffs assigned to the Patrol Division are divided up among four Patrol Squads, two Warrant Squad shifts. Currently there are 40 Deputies assigned to the Patrol Division patrolling the approximately 555 square miles of Wayne County.

 Deputies assigned to the Patrol Division answer emergency and non-emergency calls for assistance that are received from either the Sheriff's Office or Wayne County Central Communications.

They respond to a wide variety complaints that can range from simply checking the welfare of a loved one, to responding to an active armed robbery. The Sheriff's Office is the primary emergency backup agency for all of the other law enforcement agencies in the county.

K-9 Team