DWI Task Force

DWI Task Force
 In the latter part of 2014 and into 2015 Sheriff Larry Pierce and some of his personnel applied for and received a grant from the North Carolina Governor's Highway Safety Program to form a DWI Task Force.  This Task Force came into existence in October 2015.  It  concentrates on DWI enforcement and other traffic violations but they will also be available to back up other officers if needed.  They work with, but will have an independent schedule from the other divisions of the Wayne County Sheriff's Office.  The members of the Task Force have undergone specialized training and are certified in these areas to assist them in the execution of their duties.

The DWI Task Force reports to Lieutenant Travis Sparks

 Members are certified in:
 Standardized Field Sobriety Test (SFST)
 Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE)
 Intoximeter Operation
 Drug Recognition Expert (DRE)
 The Task Force consists of:
 1 Sergeant
 3 Deputy Sheriff's

  1. Travis Sparks


  2. Jay Holland